New The AI agent speaks Swiss German, as a beta. Learn more

CiaoSepp alternative: Voko and CiaoSepp compared (2026)

Prices, features available today and features announced, calendar, transfers and data side by side, with every figure read on CiaoSepp's own website.

Thomas Koch, founder of Voko8 October 202615 min read

Who CiaoSepp is

CiaoSepp (ciaosepp.ch) is an AI phone assistant named Sepp, based in Baar (canton of Zug).

Sepp answers calls, takes the request and creates a task with a summary and a transcript, which the team then works through. Customers start on their own: they register, enter their company and activate call forwarding.

Voko (Bern) is also an AI phone assistant for small businesses, set up by the business itself.

Prices and contract

All plans as published, per month, excl. VAT, read on 8 October 2026. Per minute is our arithmetic: plan price divided by included minutes. CiaoSepp's CHF 599 plan carries a footnote: one-off setup costs may apply for own-system connections.
Price a monthMinutes includedPer minute
CiaoSepp LiteCHF 2950CHF 0.58
CiaoSepp StarterCHF 99500CHF 0.20
Voko StarterCHF 99500CHF 0.20
CiaoSepp TeamCHF 2991,500CHF 0.20
Voko ProCHF 2991,500CHF 0.20
CiaoSepp UnternehmenCHF 5993,000CHF 0.20
Voko BusinessCHF 5993,000CHF 0.20
All plans as published, per month, excl. VAT, read on 8 October 2026. Per minute is our arithmetic: plan price divided by included minutes. CiaoSepp's CHF 599 plan carries a footnote: one-off setup costs may apply for own-system connections.
Contract terms as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
Extra minutesCHF 0.35 per extra minute on Starter, CHF 0.25 on Pro, CHF 0.20 on Business; total rounded up to the francLite none; Starter CHF 0.40; Team CHF 0.30; top plan on request
Annual billing15% lower per month: CHF 84, 254, 50915% off stated, no annual prices shown
Setup feeNoneStates none; top plan may add one-off integration costs
Term and noticeMonthly: cancel any time, ends with the paid monthOpen-ended; monthly plans end at month end, annual plans need 30 days’ notice
Free trial7 days or 30 minutes, no card; every feature except number portingNone offered on its site; a free demo call without signup
Money backNone30 days, on written request
VATExcludedExcluded
Contract terms as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

The Voko plans differ in features as well as minutes. Starter has answering, booking into your calendar, call summaries, opening hours and holidays, voicemail and one transfer number. Pro adds appointment reminders, contacts with caller recognition and routing, several transfer destinations with a team directory, and bexio. Business adds the after-call webhook, booking in your own system through the booking API, number porting and priority support. The knowledge the assistant reads in full grows with the plan: 40,000 characters on Starter, 100,000 on Pro, 200,000 on Business. CiaoSepp also gates features by plan, so the fair comparison is plan against plan: judge the CHF 99 rows on Starter’s features. The free trial shows everything except number porting.

Three months at each provider’s entry plan: CiaoSepp Lite costs 3 x CHF 29 = CHF 87, for 50 minutes a month. At CHF 99, either provider costs 3 x CHF 99 = CHF 297, for 500 minutes a month.

Now take a month of 600 minutes (our own example). On Voko Starter, 100 extra minutes at CHF 0.35 make CHF 35, so CHF 134. CiaoSepp Starter adds 100 minutes at CHF 0.40, so CHF 139. Lite cannot buy extra minutes, so you would have to upgrade.

Neither price includes VAT. On Voko, transferred calls, reminders and website chat messages also count as minutes; browser test calls do not. CiaoSepp’s terms do not say how minutes are rounded.

Feature by feature

Languages and Swiss German

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
LanguagesFrench, German, English, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, plus Swiss German (beta)Swiss German, German, French, Italian, English
Swiss German, speakingYes, as a beta; one female voiceStates: Swiss German or standard German, your choice
Swiss German, understandingNot claimed, never measuredClaims all common dialects; no figure published
Switch language mid-callYes, across six languages; not in Swiss GermanNot stated on its site
VoicesUp to 6 per language, with gender and toneSepp or Lena; more on Team and up
GreetingOwn text or an uploaded recording (30 s)Own text; recording upload not stated
Pace and formalityPace 0.8 to 1.2; formal address, no Du/Sie switchDu/Sie setting; speaking pace not stated
InterruptionsCaller can talk over it, not during the greetingNot stated on its site
Says it is an AIWhen asked; your greeting can say itGreeting says an automated service answers; editable
Longest callUp to 2 hours; you set 10 to 120 minutesNot stated on its site
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko offers seven languages (Swiss German as a beta) and can switch between six of them mid-call. CiaoSepp lists five. Both claim Swiss German, in different ways. These are two claims, not two measurements.

CiaoSepp’s own blog calls names, numbers and addresses weak spots for voice AI in general, and tells readers not to trust marketing promises, its own included. We apply the same rule to ours: test with a real call. On the Du/Sie switch, CiaoSepp is ahead.

Booking and calendar

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
Books into a calendarYes, via free Cal.com on every plan; your own system, Business onlyComing soon: Google and Outlook
Checks free slots liveYes, during the callComing soon: availability check in the call
Move or cancelOnly what Voko booked, from the same numberNot stated on its site
Appointment requestYes, when no calendar is connectedYes: task with transcript, team calls back
RemindersFrom Pro: SMS, or a call from the assistant (new)Not stated on its site
Confirmation to the callerSpoken, plus Cal.com email if givenNot stated on its site
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko wins this group today: it books and checks slots on every plan, and sends reminders from Pro. Its drawback is the extra layer in between: calendars connect through Cal.com, there is no direct Google or Outlook link, and one assistant books one appointment type. CiaoSepp’s planned Google and Outlook connection would remove that layer, if it arrives.

Transfers, opening hours and voicemail

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
Transfer to a personStarter: one transfer number. From Pro: up to 10 rules (number, team member, assistant, by name)Coming soon: one or several targets by plan
Opening hoursPer weekday, several windows a dayPer business; answers always, off-hours, busy or by keypress
Holidays and closures26 cantons, plus closures with own messageNot stated on its site
VoicemailAudio, 2 minutes, no transcriptNo voicemail named; takes a request as a task
Overflow when lines are fullNext call goes to a backup numberNot stated on its site
Forward everything to a phoneOne switch: 1 hour or until tomorrowNot stated on its site
Blocking and daily capsPer-number limits, auto-block, daily capsNot stated on its site
Outbound callsReminder calls only, from ProNot stated on its site
Urgent callsUrgency in every summary; routing to a team member from ProFlags emergencies, emails the team at once
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko wins on call handling: transfers (one number on Starter, several destinations from Pro; CiaoSepp announces a similar split by plan), holidays, closures, blocking. CiaoSepp’s emergency flag is a good idea: the team is emailed at once, which exists today, while a transfer to a phone is only announced.

Contacts and caller memory

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
Recognises a callerFrom Pro: saved contacts, greeted by nameNot stated on its site
Call history as contextFrom Pro, optional: the last 3 callsNot stated on its site
Per-contact routingFrom Pro: straight through, or another assistantNot stated on its site
ImportFrom Pro: CSV and Excel; CSV exportCSV and Excel; contacts also added from calls
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko wins on recognition and routing, but only from Pro: Starter has no contacts. CiaoSepp adds contacts automatically from calls. Voko only suggests “Add to contacts” in the call list.

Knowledge the assistant learns from

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
Free textYesYes
WebsiteYes, light, deep or sitemap (up to 100 pages)Read at setup; re-reading not stated
DocumentsPDF, Word, text, HTML: 10 MB, 20 per assistantComing soon: documents and external articles, Team and up
Website re-readManual, weekly or monthlyNot stated on its site
Size read in full40,000 characters on Starter, 100,000 on Pro, 200,000 on BusinessNot stated on its site
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko wins today with documents and scheduled website re-reads, though the amount it reads in full is capped by plan, at 40,000 characters on Starter. CiaoSepp states no size limit for its free text.

Summaries, transcripts and recordings

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
SummaryEmail, optional SMS, routing rulesEmail per call, morning overview, dashboard; SMS coming soon
Structured fieldsReason, urgency, caller details, to-doUrgency, name, contact, request
TranscriptYesYes, in the task
Audio recordingOff by default; announced when onOptional, caller told; default not stated
Search and exportSearch, filters, CSV or Excel exportDashboard by urgency; search and export not stated
AnalyticsBasic overviewNot stated on its site
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko offers more tools for working through calls. CiaoSepp’s task list sorted by urgency, with a morning email, is a clear way to start the day.

Integrations, API and webhooks

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
CRMNo native connector; only the webhook (Business only)Not stated on its site
AccountingFrom Pro: bexio, contacts and call notesNot stated on its site
Webhook after a callBusiness only: signed; sent once, no retryComing soon: top plan only
API and developer docsBusiness only: booking contract and spec; no REST APIComing soon: API access, top plan only
Zapier, Make, n8nNo native appNot stated on its site
Custom HTTP toolsNoComing soon: top plan only
Website chatbotText chatbot, betaNot stated on its site
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko is ahead today, but its list is short: bexio from Pro and, on Business only, the booking API and one webhook. CiaoSepp’s roadmap (API, HTTP tool calls, webhook) looks broader and is also reserved for its top plan, but none of it is available yet.

Phone numbers

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
New Swiss numberIncluded; assigned for you, no area code choiceIncluded on every plan; cost not worded separately
Keep your numberYes, call forwarding with carrier codesYes, call forwarding
PortingBusiness only: on request, by hand, about 4 weeksNot stated on its site
Numbers per plan1, 3, by agreementNot stated on its site
Simultaneous calls1, 3, by agreement1 on Lite and Starter, 3 on Team
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Close to a draw. Voko states more about porting and numbers. With Voko you cannot pick an area code; CiaoSepp says nothing on this.

Team, security and support

As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
Users1 on Starter, then unlimited1 on Lite and Starter, 5 on Team
RolesOwner, administrator, viewer, billingNot stated on its site
Two-factor sign-inYes; the owner can require itNot stated on its site
Console languagesFrench, German, EnglishNot stated on its site
SupportEmail, form, phone; answer within one business day; priority support (Business only)Email and a “24/7” hotline; priority on Team and up
Availability targetNo SLA99.5% target in its terms
As stated on each provider's own website, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko states more about access control and sign-in. CiaoSepp states an availability target and a hotline labelled “24/7”; its site does not say how the hotline is staffed.

Data and privacy

CiaoSepp’s column is its own statement, mostly from its terms and data processing agreement, not a check of ours.

Each provider's own statements, read on 8 October 2026. CiaoSepp's subprocessor list is dated June 2026.
VokoCiaoSepp
HostingDatabase in Zurich, app in Frankfurt; we do not claim Swiss hostingSays primary storage and operation are in Switzerland (Infomaniak)
Voice, AI, telephonyElevenLabs, Google (Gemini), Twilio and others, mostly US providersGoogle Gemini for voice AI; Telnyx for telephony
Audio and recordingNo recording by defaultOptional; default not stated
Retention1, 7, 30 (default), 90 days, or neverSays periods are fixed; no figure given
Zero retentionYes, per assistantNot stated on its site
AI trainingStates: neverStates: never
Data processing agreementOn requestPublic, part of the terms
Swiss data lawClaims complianceClaims compliance, plus GDPR where it applies
CertificationsNoneNone stated
Delete and exportDelete calls or account; JSON exportDelete calls; account deletion and export not stated
Each provider's own statements, read on 8 October 2026. CiaoSepp's subprocessor list is dated June 2026.

CiaoSepp’s provider list names Google and Telnyx, not ElevenLabs, OpenAI or Twilio. It speaks of “primary” storage in Switzerland and discloses which providers process data elsewhere, such as Telnyx (USA) for telephony.

CiaoSepp is better suited if the public agreement and a Swiss storage claim matter most. Voko is better suited if stated retention periods and a zero-retention mode do.

Setup and trial

CiaoSepp says most customers are ready within 15 minutes, a claim we cannot check. The customer registers, enters the company and sets up call forwarding with their carrier. Personal onboarding is for Team and above. Its site lists no free trial, but offers a free demo call with no signup and a free 30-minute demo appointment.

Voko is also self-serve: you give your website, choose a language and a voice, test with a call in the browser, then set up forwarding. We state no go-live time. The free trial lasts 7 days or 30 minutes, whichever ends first, with no card. The trial shows every feature except number porting.

Reasons to choose each

Reasons to choose CiaoSepp

  • A CHF 29 plan with 50 minutes: the lowest entry price in this comparison.
  • Contacts added automatically from calls, plus a morning overview email.
  • A 30-day money-back clause, on written request.
  • Primary storage in Switzerland by its own statement, a provider list without ElevenLabs, OpenAI or Twilio, and a public data processing agreement.
  • A Du/Sie setting, an emergency flag with immediate email, and a stated 99.5% availability target.

Reasons to choose Voko

  • Books into a calendar during the call, checks slots, moves and cancels its own bookings.
  • Transfers calls today (one number on Starter, several destinations from Pro); CiaoSepp announces it.
  • A free trial without a card, and a lower extra-minute rate on the matching plans (Starter CHF 0.35 against CHF 0.40, Pro CHF 0.25 against CHF 0.30).
  • Holidays and closures, voicemail, documents and scheduled website re-reads on every plan; reminders and caller recognition from Pro.
  • Seven languages against five (Swiss German as a beta at Voko), two-factor sign-in and roles (not stated on CiaoSepp’s site).

When to choose which

When to choose CiaoSepp

  • you want the lowest entry price and about 50 minutes a month is enough;
  • an assistant that takes requests and sends a task list suits you, with no booking or transfer yet;
  • a public data processing agreement and Swiss primary storage weigh most for you.

When to choose Voko

  • you want appointments booked into your calendar, or calls put through to a person, today (one number on Starter, several destinations from Pro);
  • you want to test without a card first, and then rely on opening hours, holidays and voicemail on any plan, and on reminders or caller recognition from Pro;
  • you need documents as a source, French, German, Italian, Spanish or Portuguese, or want to try Swiss German as a beta.

Either way, listen to a real call before you sign. You can hear ours right now: enter your website, and an assistant that knows your business answers you. For the providers side by side, read the 2026 comparison, and for the full arithmetic, how much an AI phone assistant costs.

Sources

  1. CiaoSepp, pricing (read on 8 October 2026)
  2. CiaoSepp, features (read on 8 October 2026)
  3. CiaoSepp, questions and answers (read on 8 October 2026)
  4. CiaoSepp, security (read on 8 October 2026)
  5. CiaoSepp, terms (read on 8 October 2026)
  6. CiaoSepp, data processing agreement (read on 8 October 2026)
  7. CiaoSepp, privacy policy (read on 8 October 2026)
  8. CiaoSepp, legal notice (read on 8 October 2026)
  9. CiaoSepp, blog on Swiss German (read on 8 October 2026)
  10. CiaoSepp, appointment booking (read on 8 October 2026)
  11. CiaoSepp, demo (read on 8 October 2026)

Related reads

All articles

Listen to the AI agent answer a call

One minute is enough to make up your mind. No form, no appointment.