New The AI agent speaks Swiss German, as a beta. Learn more

AWoice alternative: Voko and AWoice compared (2026)

Set up by the provider or by yourself: prices, setup fee, calendar, languages and data side by side, with every figure read on AWoice's own website.

Thomas Koch, founder of Voko8 October 202617 min read

Who AWoice is

AWoice (awoice.com, also written AW Voice) is a phone assistant for German-speaking small businesses, based in Schlieren, canton of Zurich. It has pages for hairdressers, restaurants and physiotherapy practices.

It is a done-for-you service: the first step is a conversation with the team, who build the assistant by hand. Its site states that there is no self-service dashboard.

Voko (Bern) is an AI phone assistant for small businesses across Switzerland. The business sets it up itself, from its website, in a few questions.

Prices and contract

Plans as published, read on 8 October 2026. Per included minute is our arithmetic: monthly price divided by included minutes, setup fee left out.
Price a monthIncluded minutesPer included minute
Voko StarterCHF 99500CHF 0.20
Voko ProCHF 2991,500CHF 0.20
Voko BusinessCHF 5993,000CHF 0.20
AWoice StandardCHF 189500CHF 0.38
AWoice PlusCHF 2491,000CHF 0.25
Plans as published, read on 8 October 2026. Per included minute is our arithmetic: monthly price divided by included minutes, setup fee left out.

The Voko plans differ in features as well as minutes. Starter has answering, booking in your calendar, call summaries, opening hours with Swiss holidays, voicemail, all languages and one transfer number. Pro adds appointment reminders, contacts with caller recognition and routing, several transfer destinations with a team directory, and bexio. Business adds the webhook and API, booking in your own system, number porting and priority support. The knowledge an assistant reads in full grows with the plan: 40,000 characters on Starter, 100,000 on Pro, 200,000 on Business. To compare like with like, set AWoice Standard against Voko Starter and AWoice Plus against Voko Pro.

Contract terms as published, read on 8 October 2026. The AWoice figures are those of its Standard plan unless stated.
VokoAWoice
Setup feeNoneCHF 490 Standard, CHF 690 Plus
Extra minutesCHF 0.35 per extra minute on Starter, CHF 0.25 on Pro, CHF 0.20 on Business, total rounded up to the franc, approved before billingCHF 0.30 Standard, CHF 0.25 Plus, billed at month end
Minimum termNone on monthly plans3 months
NoticeEnd of the paid month30 days, to the end of a month
Annual option15% lower per monthNot stated on its site
Free trial7 days or 30 minutes, no card, every feature except portingNone; free demo call on request
Money backNone30 days, by its terms
VATPrices exclude VATPages do not say; its imprint says it is not VAT-registered
Contract terms as published, read on 8 October 2026. The AWoice figures are those of its Standard plan unless stated.

Worked example (our arithmetic). Three months at the entry plan, 500 minutes a month: AWoice Standard costs 3 × CHF 189 + CHF 490 setup = CHF 1,057. Voko Starter costs 3 × CHF 99 = CHF 297, a difference of CHF 760.

One step up, AWoice Plus costs 3 × CHF 249 + CHF 690 = CHF 1,437 for 1,000 minutes a month. The closest Voko plan, Pro, costs 3 × CHF 299 = CHF 897 for 1,500 minutes a month, and it is the first plan with reminders, contacts, several transfer destinations and bexio.

Two things soften this. AWoice’s 30-day money-back clause refunds setup and monthly fees if you stop within 30 days, and its price buys a setup done for you. Neither list price includes extra minutes above the allowance.

Feature by feature

Each table shows what each provider states on its own website. “Not stated on its site” means the page is silent, not that the feature is missing. In the Voko column, “From Pro” means the Pro and Business plans, and “Business only” means that plan alone. Starter does not have those features.

Languages and Swiss German

Languages and voice, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
Languages spokenFrench, German (Swiss or standard), Italian, English, Spanish, PortugueseGerman only; other callers get a callback note
Switch language mid-callSix languages, not from Swiss GermanNot stated on its site
Speaks Swiss GermanYes, as a beta, with one female voiceNo: replies in standard German on purpose
Understands Swiss GermanNot measured, so we make no claimSays it does; asks again if the dialect is strong
VoicesUp to 6 per language, with gender and toneNot stated on its site
GreetingYour text, or an uploaded recordingBusiness name; wording written by AWoice
Pace and tone settingsPace, responsiveness, creativityNot stated on its site
Caller can interruptYes, except the greeting by defaultNot stated on its site
Says it is an AIWhen asked; not announced by defaultIn the first sentence, it says
Simultaneous calls1 on Starter, 3 on Pro, by agreement on BusinessNo figure; agreed in the first conversation
Longest callYou choose, up to 2 hoursNot stated on its site
Languages and voice, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko wins on languages. AWoice wins on one narrow point: it states that it understands Swiss German, while Voko speaks it only as a beta and has not measured how well it understands it.

Booking and calendar

Appointments, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
Books into a calendarCal.com (free account) on every plan; your own system by API, Business onlyGoogle Calendar, connected for you
Other calendarsOutlook, Microsoft 365, Apple, through Cal.comIts pages differ: "on request" and "Google only"
Availability checked liveDuring the callDuring the call, and again before booking
Services and staffOne appointment type per assistantDuration per service, one calendar per person
Move or cancelOnly appointments Voko booked, from the same numberBy phone; how it finds the booking is not stated
Request instead of bookingTakes a message if no calendar or no slotCallback note for prices, advice, complex cases
RemindersFrom Pro: by SMS, or a call from the assistant (calls are new)None, in its own words
Confirmation to the callerSpoken, plus a Cal.com email if an address is givenSpoken; its pages disagree on a confirmation SMS
Till, reservation or practice softwareOnly through your own system and our signed API (Business only)Not connected, it says
Appointments, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

For a business already on Google Calendar, AWoice is simpler: no middle account. It also handles services of different lengths and one calendar per person better. Voko supports more calendars, plus reminders (from Pro) and a route into your own booking system (Business only).

Transfers, opening hours and voicemail

Call handling, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
Transfer to a personOne number on every plan; from Pro, rules for a number, a team member, another assistant or a nameNot part of the service, in its words; callback instead
Opening hoursPer weekday, several windows, Zurich timeSet at setup; per-weekday detail not stated
Holidays and closuresAll 26 cantons, plus closures with their own messageAnswers on holidays; Swiss holiday calendar not stated
What a caller hears when closedAnnouncement, then voicemail up to 2 minutes, or another assistantStill answers: hours, a slot or a callback, depending on setup
VoicemailAudio, emailed or kept in the console, no transcriptNone; a callback note instead
Overflow when busyNext call goes to a backup numberNot stated on its site
Forward all callsOne switch, for an hour or until switched offNot stated on its site
Blocking and capsLimits per number, auto-block, daily capsNot stated on its site
Outbound callsReminder calls only, from ProNot stated as a feature
Urgent callsUrgency flagged; rules from Pro can route urgent callsNot stated; gives no medical information
Call handling, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko has more here, though Starter is limited to one transfer number. AWoice states that a direct transfer to a person is not part of its service. Its assistant answers at any hour, so it has no voicemail: a caller who needs a person leaves a name and number instead. How that callback note reaches you is not stated.

Contacts and caller memory

Contacts, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
Recognises a returning callerFrom Pro: saved contacts only, greeted by nameNot stated on its site
Memory of earlier callsFrom Pro: optional, the last 3 calls of a contactNot stated on its site
Routing per contactFrom Pro: straight through, or to another assistantNot stated on its site
Contact importFrom Pro: CSV, Excel, bexioNot stated on its site
Contacts, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko offers these from Pro; Starter has none of them. AWoice says nothing on the subject, so we cannot say it lacks them.

Knowledge the assistant learns from

Knowledge, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
SourcesWebsite, PDF and Word files, free textA form filled in at setup; files and website not stated
LimitsUp to 40,000 characters on Starter, 100,000 on Pro, 200,000 on Business; 20 documents of 10 MB per assistantNot stated on its site
Website re-readWeekly, monthly or on demandNot stated on its site
Who keeps it up to dateYou, in the consoleAWoice; changes included in the subscription
Knowledge, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko gives you more ways to feed the assistant, though how much it can hold depends on the plan. AWoice does the writing for you, and says its assistant does not guess beyond what is stored.

Summaries, transcripts and recordings

Records, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
Summary after each callEmail, optional SMS, routing rules, structured fieldsNo per-call summary stated; calendar entry and call log
TranscriptIn the console, speaker by speakerKept up to 90 days; your access not stated
Audio recordingOff by default; if on, a notice plays firstNone created or stored, by design
Dashboard and logCall list, search, CSV and Excel exportNo self-service dashboard
AnalyticsBasic overview: calls, bookings, durationsMonthly overview of bookings, both plans
Records, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko gives you a console you read yourself; AWoice gives you a monthly overview and its team’s review in the first 30 days. If storing no audio at all matters to you, AWoice does that by design. Voko does the same by default, but you can switch recording on.

Integrations, API and webhooks

Integrations, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
CRMNo native connector; only the webhook (Business only)Not stated on its site
AccountingFrom Pro: bexio, contacts and call notesNot stated on its site
WebhookBusiness only: after the call, signed, sent onceNot stated on its site
API and developer docsBusiness only: docs for booking and webhook; no REST APINot stated on its site
Zapier, Make, n8nNo native appNot stated for customers
Custom tool callsNot availableNot stated on its site
Website chat or voice widgetText chatbot in beta; no voice widgetNot stated on its site
Integrations, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

Voko offers more but is thin on CRMs: bexio (from Pro) and a webhook (Business only) are the only routes. AWoice states nothing here, so a business that needs a connection should ask before signing.

Phone numbers

Numbers, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
New Swiss numberIncluded, assigned automaticallyNot stated on its site
Keep your own numberCall forwarding, with codes per carrierCall forwarding, guided step by step
PortingBusiness only: on request, manual, about four weeks, landlinesNot stated on its site
Numbers per plan1 on Starter, 3 on Pro, by agreement on BusinessNot stated on its site
Choice of area codeSwiss numbers only, prefix not selectableNot stated on its site
Numbers, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

Both let you keep your number through forwarding, which you set up at your own phone provider. Beyond that AWoice says little.

Team, security and support

Team and support, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
Users1 on Starter, unlimited on Pro and BusinessNo console; no licence fee per employee
RolesOwner, administrator, viewer, billing accessNot stated on its site
Two-factor sign-inAuthenticator app; the owner can require itNo customer login described
Console languageFrench, German, EnglishNo console; site in German
SupportEmail, form, phone; reply within one business dayThe team by phone, email, WhatsApp; replies within 24 hours on working days
Named contact, priorityNo fixed contact person or support hours; priority support (Business only), terms not statedFixed contact and priority changes: Plus only
Team and support, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

AWoice wins on support: the team is reachable by phone and WhatsApp, and Plus adds a fixed contact person. Voko replies by email, form and phone and states one business day, but has no fixed contact person and states no support hours; Business lists priority support without stating its terms. Voko has the console: roles, two-factor sign-in, an interface in three languages.

Data and privacy

AWoice’s column is what it says in its privacy policy and on its site, not a check of ours.

Data statements, read on 8 October 2026. Voko holds no ISO 27001 or SOC 2 certificate.
VokoAWoice
HostingDatabase in Zurich, application in Frankfurt; voice and telephony at external providers, some in the USWebsite and call control on its own server in Frankfurt (EU); voice processing at US providers, it says
Providers namedElevenLabs, Google, Twilio, Supabase, Vercel, Cal.com, Resend, Daily, JinaVapi, Soniox, OpenAI, Twilio, Google Workspace, Hostinger, Cloudflare, Resend
AudioNot recorded by defaultSays none is created or stored
Transcripts and summaries1, 7, 30 (default), 90 days or neverSays up to 90 days, or shorter if the business sets it
Zero retentionPer assistant: nothing keptShorter period possible; zero not stated
AI trainingStates it never trains on your callsSays AWoice does not; its providers not stated
Data processing agreementOn requestOn request, not public
Swiss law, GDPRStates compliance with the revised FADP; no GDPR statementRefers to the revised FADP and shows a "DSG-konform" badge; no GDPR statement
CertificationsNoneNone listed on its site
Delete, exportDelete a call or the account; JSON exportCallers can ask for deletion; your own tools not stated
Data statements, read on 8 October 2026. Voko holds no ISO 27001 or SOC 2 certificate.

Neither provider runs the voice in Switzerland, and we do not claim Swiss hosting. On audio, AWoice is stricter by design; Voko’s default is the same, with an option to record.

Setup and trial

Starting out, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.
VokoAWoice
Who sets it upYou, in a short sign-up flowAWoice, by video call or on site
Time to go liveNo go-live time promised; the sign-up flow is described as about two minutesA binding date, no blanket promise; calendar connection usually under a day, it says
What you doGive your website, choose language and voice, test, set up forwardingTake the first call, fill in a form, have a Google Calendar, set up forwarding
Help includedGuides and a checklist; no setup callJoint tests, log review for 30 days, later changes
Trial7 days or 30 minutes, no card, every feature except portingNone; free demo of about 20 minutes
Starting out, as stated by each provider, read on 8 October 2026.

The trade-off is simple. With AWoice you wait for a date and a person does the work. With Voko you do the setup yourself and can test it on the free trial first.

Reasons to choose each

Reasons to choose AWoice

  • It is done for you by a team you can phone, with a fixed contact and priority changes on Plus.
  • Its terms include a 30-day money-back clause; Voko offers none.
  • It books into Google Calendar directly, with per-service durations and one calendar per person.
  • Cancelling and moving an appointment by phone is part of the service, with no restriction stated.
  • It states that it understands Swiss German and says it is an AI in the first sentence.
  • The team reviews the call log with you for the first 30 days, and later changes are included in the subscription.

Reasons to choose Voko

  • It is self-serve with prices you can see, a free trial, no setup fee and no minimum term.
  • It costs less per included minute (our arithmetic: CHF 0.20 against CHF 0.38 at entry level).
  • It offers six languages to choose from (over 30 understood), plus Swiss German as a beta.
  • It transfers calls (one number on Starter, several destinations by rule from Pro) and offers voicemail, overflow, forward-all and blocking.
  • It books through Cal.com into several calendars, or into your own system through an API (Business only).
  • On every plan it has knowledge from files and websites and summaries by email or SMS; from Pro, contacts, reminders and bexio; a webhook on Business only.

When to choose which

When to choose AWoice

  • you work in German, use Google Calendar, and want a person to build and maintain the assistant for you;
  • you value a 30-day money-back clause and a contact you can phone;
  • you do not need calls transferred to a person.

When to choose Voko

  • you need French, Italian or other languages, or calls passed to a person;
  • you want to try it free, set it up yourself, and stop at any time without a setup fee;
  • you want contacts (from Pro), knowledge sources, summaries and a console you read yourself.

Either way, listen to a real call before you sign. You can hear ours right now: enter your website and talk to an assistant built from it. For all the providers side by side, read the 2026 comparison, and for the full arithmetic, how much an AI phone assistant costs.

Sources

  1. AWoice, pricing, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  2. AWoice, how it works, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  3. AWoice, languages, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  4. AWoice, appointment booking, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  5. AWoice, availability, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  6. AWoice, terms, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  7. AWoice, privacy policy, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  8. AWoice, imprint, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  9. AWoice, contact, in German (read on 8 October 2026)
  10. AWoice, about us, in German (read on 8 October 2026)

Related reads

All articles

Listen to the AI agent answer a call

One minute is enough to make up your mind. No form, no appointment.